I’m Still Here/Birth Control Drama

(Warning: Talk of feminine appts in this post, so men may not want to read)

I’m so sorry I haven’t been around as much lately. Things have just been a big crazy as I’ve been adjusting to a summer schedule with my younger brother being home. I worked Vacation Bible School in the mornings at my church last week. I’ve had a few dr appts over the past week or so and had to make plans for more.

But, on a more positive note, I’m finally feeling like I have my medication under control. So I don’t have to go back to my psychiatrist until early September.

My primary care thinks my birth control is causing issues with blood pressure. So she’s told me that I need to stop taking the pill and find something without estrogen. So I made an appt with my ob/gyn – I needed to go in for my annual exam anyway – and discussed what my options were. I could’ve gone with an IUD, the implant, or a shot. My ob/gyn said she doesn’t really like to do the shot because if there are side effects there’s no way to undo it. We didn’t really talk much about the implant, all she did was mention it and how long it lasts – like 3 years. Then she brought up the IUD. There’s two different kinds – copper and hormonal. The copper lasts up to 10 years. The hormonal lasts up to 5 years. Because of the blood pressure thing, we decided that we’ll try to copper IUD first and see how it goes. The only think I don’t like about it is that it can possibly make my period even heavier than it already is. I’m gonna be a VERY unhappy camper if that happens. I’ll be going back and asking if the hormonal IUD is a possibility for me. There are two problems with going with the IUD: 1) they don’t carry them in the office and therefore have to be ordered and 2) they have to be inserted when you’re on your period.

I filled out the paperwork to order the copper IUD. I was told that it has to go through my insurance to make sure it’s covered and then it has to be shipped to the office. Well, my period is supposed to start this coming Saturday. There’s no way that it’ll be here by then. I’ll be lucky to hear whether or not it’s covered by then. So my next period is in August, due to start the day I leave for a week out of state at the beach.

I talked to my mom about that and she suggested trying to mess with my birth control pills and seeing if I can make my period earlier so that the IUD could possibly be put in before we leave. I think it’s definitely possible because I know how long it takes for my period to start after I start the placebo pills.

Changing subjects but still talking about the ob/gyn. During the annual exam, she also discovered a cyst in my left breast and told me I need to get an ultrasound of it. It’s probably nothing to worry about. But it’s still kinda scary. I mean, she said based on my age a cyst would make the most sense, but it’s still procedure and precaution to get it further examined.

This morning I had the ultrasound and everything turned out to be fine. Nothing to worry about. What a relief…

Back to the birth control issue drama. A little while after I got home, I got a call from the company my ob/gyn office sent the ParaGuard (copper IUD) order to. My insurance pharmacy benefits won’t cover it, so we’d have to pay out of pocket – and that would be like $xxx or more, just way to freaking expensive.

So I called my insurance company, and wound up spending like 45 minutes on the phone with them. But things worked out. The woman I spoke with made calls to other ob/gyn offices asking all the questions for me. She helped me set up appointments with a couple other offices. I wound up with a consultation this Friday at an office that’s about 8 miles form my house. They carry the ParaGuard in office and they’ll bill my insurance. So now hopefully I won’t have to wait till August or September to get off the pill and have the IUD inserted.

Leave a Reply

